XP problem

Got a problem with your sim software or your PC? Start here

Moderators: Pace Racing, Higpup, Koolbrown

Post Reply
JohnW
Jaded Figurehead
Posts: 13266
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:12 am
Location: High Desert, California

XP problem

Post by JohnW » Sat Oct 08, 2005 6:25 pm

On my fathers computer, the desktop has suddenly started displaying the side bar that a Windows Explorer would have. It has the detail of the file and the "System Tasks" and "Other places" menus as well. I have no idea how it got turned on or how to get RID of it. Any ideas would be nice.

F1Addict
Senior Member
Posts: 1584
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2004 10:31 pm
Location: Orange County, CA

Post by F1Addict » Sat Oct 08, 2005 7:57 pm

I'm not sure I understand. :?

J. Leno

Post by J. Leno » Sat Oct 08, 2005 7:59 pm

Take a baseball bat to it. :wink:

JohnW
Jaded Figurehead
Posts: 13266
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:12 am
Location: High Desert, California

Post by JohnW » Sat Oct 08, 2005 8:05 pm

F1Addict,

Assuming you have XP, ....if you go to the "My Computer" icon and choose "Explore". When the window opens, you'll see the left margin of the window will be blue and have three sections, as I mentioned before. That's proper, for a folder. It SHOULDN'T be showing up down the left side of the Desktop. The desktop should only have you background image and all the icons you choose to display. My Dad's desktop Has this blue "sidebar" on the left and his desktop and icons are pushed to the right.
Image

User avatar
Coopster
Posts: 1245
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 3:29 am
Location: Burbank CA
Contact:

Post by Coopster » Sun Oct 09, 2005 11:33 am

I think I know what your talking about. The blue bar on the bottom of windows where the start menu is right? right click on the taskbar and unlock it , then you can drag the taskbar and place it anywhere.
Image

*THIS SPACE FOR RENT*

JohnW
Jaded Figurehead
Posts: 13266
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:12 am
Location: High Desert, California

Post by JohnW » Sun Oct 09, 2005 1:07 pm

No. It's not the task bar. I'm going to install a video card in Dad's computer in a little while. I'll zap a screen shot and show you want I mean.
Image

JohnW
Jaded Figurehead
Posts: 13266
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:12 am
Location: High Desert, California

Post by JohnW » Sun Oct 09, 2005 1:24 pm

This is from MY computer.

Image


The red outlined menu is on my dads desktop, leftside, top to bottom. As I said, it's like it is treating the desktop as a folder in Windows Explorer.

User avatar
Steven_M
Site Admin
Posts: 3370
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 11:06 am
Location: Florida

Post by Steven_M » Sun Oct 09, 2005 1:35 pm

Click the big "Folders" button there.
- FiHS' Senior Contributor of Assholiery -

-- 2007 : 2009 FiHSF1 Series Champion --- 2007 : 2008 FiHSF1 Constructor's Championship Co-driver ---
-- V8 Supercar Series Champion --- Formula BMW Series Champion --- SRA FIA GT3 Series Champion --
--- FiHSF188 Series Champion --

Image

- The bullshit stops, when the green flag drops. -- "I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work." -

JohnW
Jaded Figurehead
Posts: 13266
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:12 am
Location: High Desert, California

Post by JohnW » Sun Oct 09, 2005 6:57 pm

There isn't a big folders button on the DESKTOP. This menu has become part of his desktop.
Image

Post Reply