Leadtek cards ?

Got a problem with your sim software or your PC? Start here

Moderators: Pace Racing, Higpup, Koolbrown

Post Reply
JohnW
Jaded Figurehead
Posts: 13263
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:12 am
Location: High Desert, California

Leadtek cards ?

Post by JohnW » Thu Nov 10, 2005 9:37 pm

I have been waiting for a well reviewed Gigabyte video card to get to be "in stock" at a web site I get my stuff from, but it has been weeks and they just keep pushing the date back. They do have the following card for about the same price.

http://www.leadtek.com/3d_graphic/winfa ... tdh_1.html


Has anyone used this brand before ?

My other option is to use a web site that I'm not familar with and get my first choice card. Has anyone used ZipZoomFly before ? Stupid name, but then again, so is NewEgg, and I use them !

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDe ... icegrabber

JohnW
Jaded Figurehead
Posts: 13263
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:12 am
Location: High Desert, California

Post by JohnW » Fri Nov 11, 2005 10:04 pm

The sound of ....nothing. It's deafening.
Image

User avatar
Ultimo_Posto
Alpaca Farmer
Posts: 3413
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 5:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Leadtek cards ?

Post by Ultimo_Posto » Fri Nov 11, 2005 10:18 pm

JohnW wrote:leadtek...zipzoomfly
Leadtek are alright. I think I've used zipzoomfly.

User avatar
Hynee
Judging Panel Member
Posts: 3226
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2004 3:43 am
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Contact:

Post by Hynee » Fri Nov 11, 2005 10:20 pm

All I know is that Leadtek are a cheap but good Taiwanese manufacturer (my TV card is Leadtek), and those sort of non-bleeding edge cards are pretty much all the same. They've cut costs by only including 1 128MB memory chip (under the diagonal heat sink), which may/may not be fine for F1C, probably fine.

I think it's a cut down 6800, so you might want to check out the performance specs for that, or even a comparison between the two.
||||||| Hynee |||||||

Image

JohnW
Jaded Figurehead
Posts: 13263
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:12 am
Location: High Desert, California

Post by JohnW » Sat Nov 12, 2005 4:56 pm

Hynee,

WHile the 6800 IS faster, it is also about $100 more.

Here is the AGP versions of what NewEgg has to offer, with a 6600GT chip.

Here

What do YOU think is the best deal. Hopefully, I won't need a bigger than 350 watt power supply to run this !
Last edited by JohnW on Sat Nov 12, 2005 9:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Hynee
Judging Panel Member
Posts: 3226
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2004 3:43 am
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Contact:

Post by Hynee » Sat Nov 12, 2005 9:49 pm

I don't know. I think either would be fine for both F1C and rFactor. It all depends on GPU/Memory speed, and # of pixel and shader pipelines. 128MB would probably be fine for rFactor, because it compresses textures, but it may be the case that racing sims are more dependant on memory size, because they need more textures than First Person Shooters, which is what all these cards are built for.
||||||| Hynee |||||||

Image

JohnW
Jaded Figurehead
Posts: 13263
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:12 am
Location: High Desert, California

Post by JohnW » Sat Nov 12, 2005 9:52 pm

Wow. That link is WAY too long !

I think I read an article on Tomshardware that for the most part, the addition of RAM on the video card, to go to 256mb is not shown to be that helpfull.
Image

Post Reply