Video Editting help

Got a problem with your sim software or your PC? Start here

Moderators: Pace Racing, Higpup, Koolbrown

JoshJ81
F1 Series Race Director
Posts: 4240
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 3:46 pm

Video Editting help

Post by JoshJ81 » Thu Dec 15, 2005 8:10 pm

I have Adobe Premiere Pro, and looking to make a small video. I'd like to have 2 different videos on one screen playing at the same time (2 different views of a filmed action shot). Kinda like that one video of the F1 car with one view from the TV track views, and the a second shot of onboard cam running at the sametime. Does anyone know how to do this?
Thanks

User avatar
Ultimo_Posto
Alpaca Farmer
Posts: 3413
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 5:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Ultimo_Posto » Thu Dec 15, 2005 8:19 pm

Pace is your man for that. Or F1Addict. Personally I would find an A-B transition with a split screen shape and assign your videos to A and B respectively, but make the transition duration infinite or very large. Maybe.
Image

F1Addict
Senior Member
Posts: 1584
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2004 10:31 pm
Location: Orange County, CA

Post by F1Addict » Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:14 pm

Yeah, I'm not sure if Premier has provisions for PiP or split-screen. I've only used LE and standard Premier, never Pro so I'm not familiar with what the extra money and letters get you.

What you really need to do, Josh, is read the manual :wink:

If you had done that, you would find that on page 136 (I know, I know, page 136 of 389... the manual is really quite comprehensive) there is a discussion of nesting. Nesting, which I've used before but never for this purpose, will allow you to...
Create complex groupings and nested effects. For example, although you can apply only one transition to an edit point, you can nest sequences and apply a new transition to each nested clip—creating transitions-within-transitions. Or you can create picture-in-picture effects, in which each picture is a nested sequence, containing its own series of clips, transitions, and effects.
So, if you read up on nesting, you'll figure it out.

User avatar
Pace Racing
Godfather
Posts: 2266
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 2:28 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: Video Editting help

Post by Pace Racing » Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:33 pm

joshj81 wrote:I have Adobe Premiere Pro, and looking to make a small video. I'd like to have 2 different videos on one screen playing at the same time (2 different views of a filmed action shot). Kinda like that one video of the F1 car with one view from the TV track views, and the a second shot of onboard cam running at the sametime. Does anyone know how to do this?
Thanks
There are several ways to do this. One is to do a top/bottom or left/right split window. In this case, you have to become familiar with the crop, resize, and position tools. Another way to do it is to have both images onscreen at the same time, one layered on top of the other. For this, you need to use separate video tracks, set keypoints for opacity, and adjust accordingly.
Image

F1Addict
Senior Member
Posts: 1584
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2004 10:31 pm
Location: Orange County, CA

Post by F1Addict » Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:35 pm

Or... you could do that :idea:

JohnW
Jaded Figurehead
Posts: 13266
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:12 am
Location: High Desert, California

Post by JohnW » Thu Dec 15, 2005 10:13 pm

Sort of like the old slide projector fades, it sounds like.
Image

JoshJ81
F1 Series Race Director
Posts: 4240
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 3:46 pm

Post by JoshJ81 » Thu Dec 15, 2005 10:41 pm

Yeah, i read some on the nesting, but didn't catch on that might be what I was looking for. I'll go back and have a look again.

I'll look at Pace's suggestions to thanks :D
FIHS F1 Career Stats
Updated through 2013 Round 1 at Melbourne
Starts: 108
Wins: 14
Podiums: 48
Poles: 17

2x Winner Monaco 2010, 2012

F1Addict
Senior Member
Posts: 1584
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2004 10:31 pm
Location: Orange County, CA

Post by F1Addict » Thu Dec 15, 2005 10:56 pm

By the way, welcome to FiHS! I didn't mean to be such a smart-ass to a new member, very unprofessional. I'm F1Addict and I've been here a very, very long time.

JohnW
Jaded Figurehead
Posts: 13266
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:12 am
Location: High Desert, California

Post by JohnW » Thu Dec 15, 2005 11:01 pm

Even before we were..here !
Image

JoshJ81
F1 Series Race Director
Posts: 4240
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 3:46 pm

Post by JoshJ81 » Fri Dec 16, 2005 12:00 am

:) its ok F1Addict, the Nippon Offseason if very fun, i wish i could have raced here for the F1 season. I was looking for a good league to run but never saw this one, oh well :D

As for the premiere, I just got the program tonight and only breezed over the help file for a short time before coming to work. But I do think i've found something, http://studio.adobe.com/us/tips/tip.jsp ... pictinpict I think thats what i'm looking for.
FIHS F1 Career Stats
Updated through 2013 Round 1 at Melbourne
Starts: 108
Wins: 14
Podiums: 48
Poles: 17

2x Winner Monaco 2010, 2012

F1Addict
Senior Member
Posts: 1584
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2004 10:31 pm
Location: Orange County, CA

Post by F1Addict » Fri Dec 16, 2005 9:02 pm

I thought about using a Garbage Matte but since my standard version of Premier doesn't support all the fancy stuff your PRO version does, I wasn't sure how that would work.

I've used a Garbage Matte to insert a still image watermark behind a sequence but never for multiple video sequences.

Now I want to upgrade to Pro, damnit. Why did you have to join this league and ask your silly questions that may force me to spend money I don't have? Why?!

JoshJ81
F1 Series Race Director
Posts: 4240
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 3:46 pm

Post by JoshJ81 » Fri Dec 16, 2005 9:35 pm

Yeah, i only needed the first 2 or 3 steps to figure it out, didn't need the whole page. It was quiet ez once I read it. but here is a short cut to my post in the Interlogos sign up thread... First video
FIHS F1 Career Stats
Updated through 2013 Round 1 at Melbourne
Starts: 108
Wins: 14
Podiums: 48
Poles: 17

2x Winner Monaco 2010, 2012

JohnW
Jaded Figurehead
Posts: 13266
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:12 am
Location: High Desert, California

Post by JohnW » Sat Dec 17, 2005 3:11 pm

Even with education discounts, I can't find it for less than $198. Adobe Premier Pro version 1.5 , that is.
Image

User avatar
Coopster
Posts: 1245
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 3:29 am
Location: Burbank CA
Contact:

vcr files

Post by Coopster » Thu Dec 29, 2005 6:44 pm

ok you video wizards, i have an easier question for you, How can I convert a vcr file to lets say an mpeg or a media file? I want to send a replay to a friend that dosent have r factor. :?:
Image

*THIS SPACE FOR RENT*

User avatar
Coopster
Posts: 1245
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 3:29 am
Location: Burbank CA
Contact:

Post by Coopster » Thu Dec 29, 2005 7:16 pm

nevermind , didnt notice the "export" button in the replay fridge, thanx pace!
Image

*THIS SPACE FOR RENT*

Post Reply