Telemetry mod's

Got a problem with your sim software or your PC? Start here

Moderators: Pace Racing, Higpup, Koolbrown

Post Reply
JoshJ81
F1 Series Race Director
Posts: 4240
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 3:46 pm

Telemetry mod's

Post by JoshJ81 » Mon Apr 24, 2006 9:22 pm

When I first got here, i was directed to add Philo's telemetry mod, the one with the Tire temp optimizer, something like that. I was wondering if that link to be displayed again. I had to do a fresh install and forgot to save that part. Thanks

PS is there any other F1c tweak or useful mod that has been made available that maybe I should be using as well? That Telem thing was pretty sweet.
FIHS F1 Career Stats
Updated through 2013 Round 1 at Melbourne
Starts: 108
Wins: 14
Podiums: 48
Poles: 17

2x Winner Monaco 2010, 2012

User avatar
Pace Racing
Godfather
Posts: 2266
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 2:28 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by Pace Racing » Mon Apr 24, 2006 10:00 pm

I'm not sure about what Philo's telemetry tool was. I personally use the BrunoB add on screens to the stock telemetry. It may be the same thing you were using. You can probably google it and find links to it. I just looked myself and found all new BrunoB screens. I think I'll give them a try. Here's the link.
http://www.racesimulations.com/F1C/files/4371.html
Image

Napo

Post by Napo » Mon Apr 24, 2006 10:35 pm

can someone give me a link to every telemetry tool out there for f1c. I'd like to try them. Cuz the f1c telemetry blows.

JoshJ81
F1 Series Race Director
Posts: 4240
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 3:46 pm

Post by JoshJ81 » Mon Apr 24, 2006 11:03 pm

The tire thing i'm talking about is a new graph addon to the F1c Telemetry that told you the optimiums you should be looking for. That BrunoB thing is neat btw but it is bogus, you have to jump through hoops to get it and I have not been able to. the download you posted is actually and txt file on how to download it from somewhere else and if I'm not mistaken it is a porn site or at least there is nasty popups.
FIHS F1 Career Stats
Updated through 2013 Round 1 at Melbourne
Starts: 108
Wins: 14
Podiums: 48
Poles: 17

2x Winner Monaco 2010, 2012

JohnW
Jaded Figurehead
Posts: 13266
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:12 am
Location: High Desert, California

Post by JohnW » Tue Apr 25, 2006 8:55 am

I must have missed the tire temp add on thingy. I just use the stock screens.
Image

User avatar
Ultimo_Posto
Alpaca Farmer
Posts: 3413
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 5:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Ultimo_Posto » Tue Apr 25, 2006 9:58 am

The stock screens are good, and if you click "advanced" it lets you change your wing settings independently ;)

Philoctetes
ECCI Yuppie
Posts: 2391
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 2:55 am

Post by Philoctetes » Tue Apr 25, 2006 4:58 pm

http://www.fihsf1.net/downloads/telemet ... emetri.zip is the telemetry screens. I'm not sure if all of them work with F1C, as they were really designed for 2K2.

Bruno also released a default.cfg with some interesting external and cockpit views...

http://www.fihsf1.net/downloads/telemet ... efault.zip

As with anything, be sure to back up your originals!!!
Image

I never met an apex I didn't like... to miss.

User avatar
cks1
Posts: 241
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 5:46 pm
Location: USA, Boston MA

Post by cks1 » Tue Apr 25, 2006 5:40 pm

Josh

This is the link to the Philo post on Telemetry add-in layouts for tyre temps. I am not sure if they apply to RH05 based on our testing.

viewtopic.php?t=631

Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:50 pm Post subject:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Okay, with tire temps, it's all about keeping an even crown to present a flat surface to the tarmac....

.....Now, how do we read the telemetry, and what should we be looking for? The first thing you should do is download this file of telemetry layouts and extract them into your telemetry/layouts directory. When you run a lap and load the telemetry app you'll see two new categories in the drop-down list: "[Tyre] - Tyre Temperatures All (In/Outside vs Middle/Crown)" and "[Tyre] - Tyre Temperatures (Averaged)". It's the first one that we will be concerning ourselves with.

When you load a lap into the telemetry, then select the Tyre Temperatures All page, this is what you'll see:.....

Philoctetes
ECCI Yuppie
Posts: 2391
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 2:55 am

Post by Philoctetes » Tue Apr 25, 2006 6:11 pm

Thanks for finding that one, CKS! I've fixed the links so that the images and download works. :)
Image

I never met an apex I didn't like... to miss.

JoshJ81
F1 Series Race Director
Posts: 4240
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 3:46 pm

Post by JoshJ81 » Tue Apr 25, 2006 9:23 pm

cks1 wrote:Josh

This is the link to the Philo post on Telemetry add-in layouts for tyre temps. I am not sure if they apply to RH05 based on our testing.

viewtopic.php?t=631

Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:50 pm Post subject:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Okay, with tire temps, it's all about keeping an even crown to present a flat surface to the tarmac....

.....Now, how do we read the telemetry, and what should we be looking for? The first thing you should do is download this file of telemetry layouts and extract them into your telemetry/layouts directory. When you run a lap and load the telemetry app you'll see two new categories in the drop-down list: "[Tyre] - Tyre Temperatures All (In/Outside vs Middle/Crown)" and "[Tyre] - Tyre Temperatures (Averaged)". It's the first one that we will be concerning ourselves with.

When you load a lap into the telemetry, then select the Tyre Temperatures All page, this is what you'll see:.....
Yes this what I was looking for. I find it very helpful, thanks CKS for finding it and thanks Philo for posting it to begin with.

Philo, is there another Telemetry tutorial such as this Tire read out? Like the "what are will looking for on xxx, and this what your want to change to get xxx to do xxx"? That kinda thing. The heights and driver inputs are about the only other thing I can use to help. The dampers I don't understand at all on the telemetry. Anyways, if not thanks as said before :D
FIHS F1 Career Stats
Updated through 2013 Round 1 at Melbourne
Starts: 108
Wins: 14
Podiums: 48
Poles: 17

2x Winner Monaco 2010, 2012

Philoctetes
ECCI Yuppie
Posts: 2391
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 2:55 am

Post by Philoctetes » Wed Apr 26, 2006 3:26 am

Somewhere on the site I had a tutorial showing some simple changes I made to one of John's setups at Melbourne. I'm sure it can be dug up. :)
Image

I never met an apex I didn't like... to miss.

User avatar
cks1
Posts: 241
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 5:46 pm
Location: USA, Boston MA

Post by cks1 » Wed Apr 26, 2006 4:28 am

Philo

Do you think the add-in telemetry srceens you posted in 2004 still apply to RH05?

Craig

JohnW
Jaded Figurehead
Posts: 13266
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:12 am
Location: High Desert, California

Post by JohnW » Wed Apr 26, 2006 7:58 am

And all this time I never knew how to zoom in on the graphs in the telemetry, to see what is going on, in more detail. A recently ex-member told me in a test session about two weeks ago.

I've often thought we should put a "Telemetry:How do you use it ? " thread together. Everyone could contribute and make it an article so that the search engines could find it, and therefore US ! We could start with Philo's old post and build it up from there.
Image

User avatar
cks1
Posts: 241
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 5:46 pm
Location: USA, Boston MA

Post by cks1 » Wed Apr 26, 2006 8:03 am

Philo

Do you think the add-in telemetry screens you posted in 2004 still apply to RH05?

Craig
I specifically me the tyre temp telemety add-ins you posted in 2004.

Post Reply