Bandwidth census

Got a problem with your sim software or your PC? Start here

Moderators: Pace Racing, Higpup, Koolbrown

User avatar
Ultimo_Posto
Alpaca Farmer
Posts: 3413
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 5:38 pm
Contact:

Bandwidth census

Post by Ultimo_Posto »

I am looking into server optimisations. It would help to know the range of speeds we are dealing with on the client side. Can people please run these 2 tests and post your results?

http://www.pcpitstop.com/internet/BwDownTest.asp
http://www.pcpitstop.com/internet/bandwidthup.asp

If you are not happy with your result you can run the tests again, but please post the results from all your tries. The lower number is just as important to know as the upper number. If you like, you can PM me your results instead.
User avatar
cks1
Posts: 241
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 5:46 pm
Location: USA, Boston MA

Post by cks1 »

10 Tests each for Up and Down.

Up: Low 364 Kb, High 370 Kb

Down: Low 1,070 Kb, High 1,498 Kb
User avatar
Coopster
Posts: 1245
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 3:29 am
Location: Burbank CA
Contact:

Post by Coopster »

2 tests

down 2074, 1837
up 438,438
Image

*THIS SPACE FOR RENT*
Philoctetes
ECCI Yuppie
Posts: 2391
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 2:55 am

Post by Philoctetes »

Down: 2496 & 2582
Up: 251 & 249
Image

I never met an apex I didn't like... to miss.
User avatar
krlos
Posts: 592
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 2:31 pm
Location: Orlando, FL
Contact:

Post by krlos »

Download speed: 2221 kilobits per second

I could not get a up load test done on that page even after turning firewall off. :(
Former Fihsf1 Judge
Image
User avatar
Ultimo_Posto
Alpaca Farmer
Posts: 3413
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 5:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Ultimo_Posto »

To do the upload test you need to enable ActiveX. Usually you can do that by clicking the yellow bar when it appears at the top of your browser window.
User avatar
krlos
Posts: 592
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 2:31 pm
Location: Orlando, FL
Contact:

Post by krlos »

No yellow bars appear on my browers. I have seen them before. Not now though. :roll:
Former Fihsf1 Judge
Image
User avatar
Ultimo_Posto
Alpaca Farmer
Posts: 3413
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 5:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Ultimo_Posto »

Image
JoshJ81
F1 Series Race Director
Posts: 4240
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 3:46 pm

Post by JoshJ81 »

I have Cox Cable and mine was 4,406.37 / kbps Down and 711.65 / kbps up on first test at www.bandwidth.com

2nd Test: 5188 down / 737 kilobits up at www.pcpitstop.com
FIHS F1 Career Stats
Updated through 2013 Round 1 at Melbourne
Starts: 108
Wins: 14
Podiums: 48
Poles: 17

2x Winner Monaco 2010, 2012
User avatar
Pace Racing
Godfather
Posts: 2266
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 2:28 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Post by Pace Racing »

4 Tests- (also Cox Cable)
5111, 7215, 7307, 7339 - Download
526, 526, 526, 526 - Upload
Image
JohnW
Jaded Figurehead
Posts: 13546
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:12 am
Location: High Desert, California

Post by JohnW »

Damn cable guys !

On average I got 1500 Kbps download. Just about every test was different on my upload. Anywere from 186 to 372Kbps. Some of the tests would lock up my wireless router and I would have to restart it.
Image
User avatar
Ultimo_Posto
Alpaca Farmer
Posts: 3413
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 5:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Ultimo_Posto »

Are you using WiFi to race? Is anybody using WiFi to race?
JohnW
Jaded Figurehead
Posts: 13546
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:12 am
Location: High Desert, California

Post by JohnW »

It's a wireless router so my wife can connect with her laptop. I use one of the Cat5 ports on the back.
Image
User avatar
Pace Racing
Godfather
Posts: 2266
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 2:28 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Post by Pace Racing »

akuma66 wrote:oook, on my 1mb ADSL I get : 953 download and 230 upload.

PS, I wont be able to make it to monaco as one of our CoD2 clanmates is doing a clan bbq this weekend and is not something I can miss :(
Have fun akuma, we'll miss you. If you want to try to get a replacement driver, you should get a hold of Marco. Check this link if you haven't already seen it. :wink:
viewtopic.php?t=1855&start=0&postdays=0 ... highlight=
Image
User avatar
O Danny Boy
Posts: 368
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: Halifax, Canada

Post by O Danny Boy »

5875, 4836 - down. I can't do an up becasue I am behind some firewall and will have to get my roommate to remove it before I can do it.
Image
Post Reply