Post rFactor hosting = keyboard lag

Got a problem with your sim software or your PC? Start here

Moderators: Pace Racing, Higpup, Koolbrown

Post Reply
JohnW
Jaded Figurehead
Posts: 13263
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:12 am
Location: High Desert, California

Post rFactor hosting = keyboard lag

Post by JohnW » Tue Jan 16, 2007 4:07 pm

While just in practise sessions and qualifying, I can type in the monitor window just fine. After the race finishes I can barely get ANYTHING typed out because of huge keyboard lag. I added more RAM to my system, so I have 1 gig of PC400 RAM, but that didn't seem to help much. I run with all non nessisary processes off. What ELSE can I try ?

Proccessor is an Athlon XP 2600+ ( Approx 2.0 Ghz )
Video Card is a gForce 9650 Ultra
FIOS connection
Game network settings are 1500/1000
Image

JohnW
Jaded Figurehead
Posts: 13263
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:12 am
Location: High Desert, California

Post by JohnW » Sun Jan 21, 2007 7:34 pm

OK. It does it just as bad if I just RACE on a server. This sucks. If anyone can pinpoint the problem, I'd be really happy. The last time this happened, but not nearly as badly, was in F1C and I had to upgrade my CPU ( and m/b and Ram ) to fix it.
Image

User avatar
cks1
Posts: 241
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 5:46 pm
Location: USA, Boston MA

Post by cks1 » Mon Jan 22, 2007 9:29 am

John you have a freaking FIOS connection, you lucky bastard. Which bandwidth did you sign up for? They have it in MA but in all the towns around mine, not mine. It has to be a big step up from anything else available.
Image

JohnW
Jaded Figurehead
Posts: 13263
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:12 am
Location: High Desert, California

Post by JohnW » Mon Jan 22, 2007 9:34 am

5Mb Down / 2Mb up

It's the cheapest one they had...$34.95 / month
Image

User avatar
cks1
Posts: 241
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 5:46 pm
Location: USA, Boston MA

Post by cks1 » Mon Jan 22, 2007 1:46 pm

Amazing
Image

pdvale

Re: Post rFactor hosting = keyboard lag

Post by pdvale » Thu Feb 01, 2007 9:13 am

JohnW wrote:While just in practise sessions and qualifying, I can type in the monitor window just fine. After the race finishes I can barely get ANYTHING typed out because of huge keyboard lag.

I have the exact same problem... and also no idea why.

I have a good connection, 3000 down 350 up... I would like to know why too.

User avatar
Pace Racing
Godfather
Posts: 2266
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 2:28 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: Post rFactor hosting = keyboard lag

Post by Pace Racing » Thu Feb 01, 2007 11:30 am

pdvale wrote:
JohnW wrote:While just in practise sessions and qualifying, I can type in the monitor window just fine. After the race finishes I can barely get ANYTHING typed out because of huge keyboard lag.

I have the exact same problem... and also no idea why.

I have a good connection, 3000 down 350 up... I would like to know why too.
It's hardware related, not connection related. I say this because on our old F1C server, we had the same problem so badly I couldn't even type with it. When we upgraded to a faster computer (on the same T3), the problem was gone.
Image

JohnW
Jaded Figurehead
Posts: 13263
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:12 am
Location: High Desert, California

Post by JohnW » Thu Feb 01, 2007 11:36 am

BustedKnuckles let me know that if you right click on your name and view you laps, and then come back, it improves. I've tried that, and it works. It's not back to fully working, but good enough to type.
Image

Post Reply