Page 1 of 1

VISTA & Rfactor

Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 9:04 am
by Koolbrown
Anyone know if Rfactor will run on Vista?

Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 9:24 am
by J-DOG
yes i just bought a new computer and it works fine

Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 9:32 am
by RacerScott
Anyone know if I would take a performace hit (FPS) changing from XP to vista on the same system. Not really that serious about it just wondering.

Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:03 pm
by JohnW
I would imagine that it would , given Vista will take MORE resources than XP.

Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:58 pm
by Koolbrown
I cant seem to get Rfactor to run on Vista, it appears to be a DX9 related issue.

I also dont know if my Momo wheel will like Vista either?

Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 4:49 pm
by JohnW
I hear Vista can "obsolete" hardware, if a certified driver ca not be found. I would go check at the rFactor tech board.

Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 6:31 am
by J-DOG
my G25 was plug and play with no problems. the computer i bought is a gaming one and has monster hardwear. but no problems with any thing

Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 12:56 pm
by Pace Racing
I'm running rFactor in Vista 64 with no problems. KB, what problem are you having?

Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 6:29 pm
by Koolbrown
Its telling me that I am missing DX9 DLL's

Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 7:26 pm
by Pace Racing
Koolbrown wrote:Its telling me that I am missing DX9 DLL's
It's an easy fix. Just find the .dll's it says your are missing, and install them in the appropriate folders. It should work, assuming your are running dx 9 or 10.

Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 8:21 pm
by JohnW
Hopefully, the error give the path to the file it can not find. If not..how does he know WHERE they should go ? ( Not that there are more than about 2 or three spots. Unless Vista is different, in that respect. )

Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 9:28 pm
by Pace Racing
Because it will miss the location the file is missing in in the error message.

Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 5:20 am
by Rocco
If you don't want to use Visa to buy rFactor, use MasterCard.