HuD - MoTeC

Got a problem with your sim software or your PC? Start here

Moderators: Pace Racing, Higpup, Koolbrown

Post Reply
Kiwi
Posts: 81
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 6:52 pm

HuD - MoTeC

Post by Kiwi » Tue Apr 23, 2013 7:32 pm

anyone running the HuD plugin with Win 7 an 64 bit machine

rfdynhud

I've read the read me, I not computer savy at setting up plugins
so far,The MoTec, plugin, has been a disaster

Some help, setting it up an running , please
Last edited by Kiwi on Wed May 01, 2013 11:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

JohnW
Jaded Figurehead
Posts: 13245
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:12 am
Location: High Desert, California

Re: HuD

Post by JohnW » Tue Apr 23, 2013 7:43 pm

I think Sean is running Win 7 and has a HUD plugin of some sort. Send him a PM.
Image

User avatar
Higpup
Posts: 2263
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 4:07 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

Re: HuD

Post by Higpup » Tue Apr 23, 2013 8:39 pm

Yes, I am running the HUD with win 7 - 64 bit. What problems are you having?
Sean Higgins
http://www.higpup.com


2015 FiHS Champion
2012 FiHS Constructors Champion

Kiwi
Posts: 81
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 6:52 pm

Re: HuD

Post by Kiwi » Tue Apr 23, 2013 9:36 pm

Higpup wrote:Yes, I am running the HUD with win 7 - 64 bit. What problems are you having?
How to get it to work, an how to set it up ?

User avatar
Higpup
Posts: 2263
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 4:07 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

Re: HuD

Post by Higpup » Wed Apr 24, 2013 11:14 am

When I get home I can tell you how to start it and folders the files are in, if I can remember. :) getting old ya know.
Sean Higgins
http://www.higpup.com


2015 FiHS Champion
2012 FiHS Constructors Champion

User avatar
Josf
Posts: 745
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 5:45 pm

Re: HuD

Post by Josf » Thu Apr 25, 2013 3:15 pm

Hey,

I am also trying to get rfDynHUD loaded into Win 7 64bit.

I don't want to screw up my rFactor that is working so I am trying to reload the whole game under the same directory name, after I rename the exiting (working) rFactor folder.

I have been running into trouble and I found this:

http://www.ctdp.net/rfdynhud.html

_______________________________________________________________________
Installation

If you have a non-rfdynhud d3d9.dll in your rFactor installation folder, create a backup.
To install the plugin copy all contents from the "rFactor" folder from this archive to your rFactor installation folder.
Make sure a 32 bit Java Runtime Environment 6 (JRE) is installed (even if you're using a 64 bit OS*).
Please consult the readme, to learn how to use it.
Enjoy!

* rFactor is a 32 bit Application, so even if you run it on Windows 7 64 bit, you need the 32 bit Java Runtime Environment to run rfDynHUD in your rFactor. It can be installed next to the 64 bit JRE without problems.
_______________________________________________________________________


From JRE is this:

http://www.java.com/en/download/manual.jsp
We have detected you may be viewing this page in a 32-bit browser. If you use 32-bit and 64-bit browsers interchangeably, you will need to install both 32-bit and 64-bit Java in order to have the Java plug-in for both browsers.

User avatar
Josf
Posts: 745
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 5:45 pm

Re: HuD

Post by Josf » Thu Apr 25, 2013 3:16 pm

I've tried repairing c++

Reloading Java

Setting security up in properties for rfdynhud_editor, and rfdynhud_editor_launcher, troubleshooting compatibility, no luck.

The editor jar and launcher files start a process with the little circle appearing to rotate, but then nothing happens.

User avatar
Higpup
Posts: 2263
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 4:07 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

Re: HuD

Post by Higpup » Thu Apr 25, 2013 5:52 pm

You will have to download and install this version of 32bit Java6 to enable rf dynamic hud to open (jre-6u32-windows-i586) http://download.oracle.com/otn/java/jdk ... s-i586.exe

Once installed go to \Plugins\rfDynHUD\editor\rfdynhud_editor_launcher.exe and run it. If it doesn't run something is wrong with Java install. I had to run as Administrator in Win 7, 64bit.

Once you get it running you can select your resolution to get a good sense of where everything is on the screen.
Under widgets on menu there are a multitude of things you can put on the screen. When you're done, choose "save as" and save for what session you want or all sessions.

To test it start rfactor and then take your car into pit lane to see if it shows up.
Sean Higgins
http://www.higpup.com


2015 FiHS Champion
2012 FiHS Constructors Champion

User avatar
Josf
Posts: 745
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 5:45 pm

Re: HuD

Post by Josf » Thu Apr 25, 2013 6:26 pm

Sean,

I get an error message when going to the link you posted.

I can try one of the following (I suppose):

http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/ ... 32-oth-JPR

Oracle is asking for registration.

I'm trying this:

http://www.gamefront.com/files/22156657 ... s_i586_exe

Thanks Sean, that does it.

Editor Launcher launched the Editor window.

Note: I deleted Java before installing the 6u32 version.

User avatar
Josf
Posts: 745
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 5:45 pm

Re: HuD

Post by Josf » Thu Apr 25, 2013 6:54 pm

Useful Control Mapping in the Game are:

Toggle HUD Stats
Toggle HUD Tach
Toggle HUD MFD

If those are mapped in Controls in the game, then the Stock rFactor Tach can be removed (replaced), as well as the Stats (the cars shown as dots on the bottom left of the screen), and the MFD (lower right information window), replaced or eliminated.

I like the new Tach, and I don't run the rFactor arms and steering wheel shown on the computer screen.

The league Server is down.

JohnW
Jaded Figurehead
Posts: 13245
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:12 am
Location: High Desert, California

Re: HuD

Post by JohnW » Thu Apr 25, 2013 7:07 pm

It will be down until 7am tomorrow. They are moving hardware to a new location.
Image

Kiwi
Posts: 81
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 6:52 pm

Re: HuD

Post by Kiwi » Thu Apr 25, 2013 9:47 pm

Higpup wrote:You will have to download and install this version of 32bit Java6 to enable rf dynamic hud to open (jre-6u32-windows-i586) http://download.oracle.com/otn/java/jdk ... s-i586.exe

Once installed go to \Plugins\rfDynHUD\editor\rfdynhud_editor_launcher.exe and run it. If it doesn't run something is wrong with Java install. I had to run as Administrator in Win 7, 64bit.

Once you get it running you can select your resolution to get a good sense of where everything is on the screen.
Under widgets on menu there are a multitude of things you can put on the screen. When you're done, choose "save as" and save for what session you want or all sessions.

To test it start rfactor and then take your car into pit lane to see if it shows up.
Thank you :D
Its like a new toy ::):

By chance, do you have Motec (working on your 64bit-win 7 machine)?
If yes, how did you get it to work :?:

User avatar
Higpup
Posts: 2263
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 4:07 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

Re: HuD

Post by Higpup » Fri Apr 26, 2013 8:13 am

I ran motec last year with win xp, but not this year with win 7. I just haven't needed it yet. I might try and get it working with win 7.
Sean Higgins
http://www.higpup.com


2015 FiHS Champion
2012 FiHS Constructors Champion

Kiwi
Posts: 81
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 6:52 pm

Re: HuD

Post by Kiwi » Tue Apr 30, 2013 12:43 pm

Higpup wrote:I ran motec last year with win xp, but not this year with win 7. I just haven't needed it yet. I might try and get it working with win 7.
Finally got motec , up an running

http://isiforums.net/f/showthread.php/2 ... tec-Plugin

a new toy to play with ::): :mrgreen:

User avatar
Higpup
Posts: 2263
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 4:07 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

Re: HuD

Post by Higpup » Tue Apr 30, 2013 1:34 pm

Kiwi wrote:
Higpup wrote:I ran motec last year with win xp, but not this year with win 7. I just haven't needed it yet. I might try and get it working with win 7.
Finally got motec , up an running

http://isiforums.net/f/showthread.php/2 ... tec-Plugin

a new toy to play with ::): :mrgreen:
:) In my case too much information is always a bad idea. ::): I sometimes get stuck adjusting for the sake of numbers and not feel of the car.
Sean Higgins
http://www.higpup.com


2015 FiHS Champion
2012 FiHS Constructors Champion

Post Reply